Did You Know That Indiana Law Says You Can’t Sell a Puppy or Kitten Before a Certain Age?
Things you may not know: In the state of Indiana it is against the law to sell a puppy or kitten before a certain age. Find out how old they need to be before they can go home.
In shelters and rescues across the state of Indiana, there are puppies and kittens waiting for their forever homes. Many of those are young puppies and kittens still with their mommas. Ever noticed that shelters offer puppies and kittens for "pre-adoption?" The reason for that is that Indiana state law mandates that it is illegal to sell or recieve a puppy or kitten under the age of 8 weeks old. The exception is if the animal is accompanied by its mother. This includes not only shelters & rescues but breeders as well. Of course, a reputable breeder would adhere to state laws and never sell a puppy or kitten prior to 8 weeks old.
There are many reasons for the law one of which is that puppies and kittens typically are not fully weened until the age of 8 weeks old. Another reason for the law is because puppies in particular, learn certain behavior in a pack environment at an early age that they simply cannot learn from humans, resulting in poor social skills and even poor physical coordination.
If you're planning on adding a new member to your family, please do so responsibly. Of course, adopting from a local shelter or rescue is always a great idea! Here's a list of area rescues & shelters: